My heart is true as steel.

A midsummer night’s dreams is one of my favorite of Shakespeare’s alongside The Taming of the Shrew. It is a romantic comedy in Shakespeare’s way. Last week, my friends in OZ staged that play and I was really frustrated for not able to join the production. From what I’ve been told, the show was a success. The director who is my good friend is very passionate about this play and put all his heart and soul into it.  The dimension of the show has been changed to a more French kind of way.  They are no magical fairies with flowers and leaves but long dresses and the lads are in French suits. The magical thing about this Shakespeare’s piece is the divination of the fairies. They inhabit the moonlit forest where the lovers fled to find peace and freedom. The fairies took love lightly by mistakenly dropped the love potions in the wrong eyes and that creates some kind of fairy-kind of chaos in the forest.

I really love this play and could go on and on writing about it. It has so much love and ambiguity that captures every heart of those who read the play. Whenever I read the play, I’ll fall in love with it. Every time.

“Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind; And therefore is winged Cupid painted blind.” 

I pray thee, gentle mortal, sing again:
Mine ear is much enamour’d of thy note;
So is mine eye enthralled to thy shape;
And thy fair virtue’s force perforce doth move me
On the first view to say, to swear, I love thee.”
  

hurm.jpg

*some of my friends from the cast*

Leave a Reply

